DOOM (2016)

Date Completed: Nov. 13th, 2021

After purchasing Wolfenstein : The New Order I started looking into other first-person-shooter games that reminded me of my high school years and Doom is most certainly one of those. I hadn’t been interested in Doom at all since Doom 3 which I disliked enough that it turned me off on the series for 20 years. Usually what I’m looking for in a FPS game is fast paced action. To me a good FPS involves running and jumping as the Gazelle while carrying a gun the size of Cadillac in front of your crotch. The less realistic the physics the better the game as far as I’m concerned.

The guy in the middle looks familiar…

I played through Doom VFR almost two years ago which is a sort of sequel / companion to Doom. Doom VFR uses a lot of the same environments, weapons and enemies as Doom but has been adjusted to be more of a ‘Virtual Reality Tech Demo’. It features much shorter levels and game play mechanics that are designed to reduce motion sickness.

I don’t typically experience motion sickness with non-VR games but in the case of Doom I did have an issue. After a particularly frantic action scene I’d sometime notice I wasn’t feeling well and eventually I realized it was motion sickness. My body did seem to acclimate to it by the end of the game and thankfully I didn’t experience it anymore. I can can only imagine that if this game were fully VR enabled there would be VOMIT EVERYWHERE.

Don’t use the rocket launcher up close!

The game is one of the goriest I’ve played in recent memory. The chainsaw is a particularly horrifying way to dispatch an enemy and awards you with extra ammo drops for some reason. I don’t always chase the kids out of the room when I’m playing a Mature rated game if I don’t suspect something horrifying is going to happen. In the case of Doom something horrifying is always happening so there was no watching Daddy for ‘just a moment or two’.

An old ‘friend’ from Doom 1993 got some upgrades

After finishing The Witcher this was the exact type of experience I was looking for. Fast paced, mindless, balls-to-the-wall action that I enjoy and as a bonus it could be finished in less than 100 hours. It was the perfect palette cleanser after a lengthy RPG.

Is it fun: Yes
Score: 8/10
Length: 15 hours
System: PlayStation 4
Genre: First Person Shooter

Leave a comment