Pokemon Picross

Date Completed: July 28th, 2016

pokemon_picross_logo I’m getting super behind on my blog.  This is almost 6 months late!  I’m going to try and keep things short in the future so writing this thing doesn’t take longer than beating the games!

My wife had played some Picross games in the past and they looked fun but I had never tried one on my own before Pokemon Picross.  My wife had recently mentioned that she was in the mood to play a Picross game again and suddenly Pokemon Picross came out and it was free-to-play!  I immediately downloaded it for both of us.

Since the game is free-to-play you’re limited in what you can accomplish each day unless you pay to unlock everything.  If you don’t spend real money you have an energy bar that limits how many squares you can uncover.  Stages are also locked until you pay to unlock them with ‘Picrites’.  ‘Picrites’ can be earned in-game or purchased with real-world money.  I spent about 5 dollars to buy a pack of Picrites but after that I was strictly free-to-play.  I made playing party of my daily routine.  It made a perfect tea-timer. I spent a few minutes playing my daily training puzzle each morning while my tea was brewing and when I was done my tea was ready.

My wife didn’t end up putting too much time into this game.  She’s a big Picross fan but this game mixes things up by including Pokemon skills and stage missions which often require bringing a specific Pokemon or type of Pokemon along to win.  Hunting through lists of Pokemon to take on missions was a bit too much for my wife.  I think all she was looking for in a Picross game was something to sit down and play without having to worry about the meta game.

Overall it’s hard to not recommend this game as it is free.  It may not be what a traditional Picross player is looking for but if you’re that type of person who likes Picross and Pokemon it’s a no-brainer.

Is it fun: Yes
Score: 6/10
Length: I didn’t measure.
System: 3DS
Genre: Puzzle

 

Leave a Reply

