Animal Crossing : New Leaf

animal_crossing_new_leaf_box_art_north_americaDate Completed: 11/25/2013

You may have already noticed that this review is being published two and a half years late.  I generally don’t write a review until I’ve gone through the process of ‘retiring a game’ which involves placing it back into it’s packaging and either listing it on eBay or placing it on my “I might want to play it again but probably won’t but I will keep it anyway” shelf.  In the case of Animal Crossing I never retired the game because the game never ends.  I’ve checked in to my town a few times but I haven’t played the game regularly in awhile now and I think it’s finally time to do my write-up.

I bought my wife a copy of the predecessor of Animal Crossing : New Leaf (known as Animal Crossing : Wild World) before I heard that New Leaf was going to be a thing.  I thought it was the kind of game my wife would enjoy  and as it turns out she really did get into it and I was surprised to find I sort of enjoyed watching her play it.  A few months later I heard that a 3DS update to Animal Crossing was coming so as soon as it came out I bought my wife a copy.  I never intended to purchase a copy for myself but I noticed that everyone I met on Streetpass had been playing Animal Crossing.  Various video gaming news sites were also publishing vast amounts of Animal Crossing propaganda and I eventually caved and bought myself a copy as well.

HNI_0097

My house may resemble a gothic cathedral. 

My wife wasn’t emotionally ready to leave her old town behind so I ended up starting in on New Leaf first.  As I’ve mentioned numerous times before anything Norse related is automatically awesome.  I decided to make my town as ‘Norsey’ ( May Thor forgive me for using that word) as possible.   I named my town ‘Alfheim’ after the home of the Light Elves in Norse mythology and I designed my town flag to look like a Viking longboat.

HNI_0005

My town flag

After arriving in town and being installed as the new Mayor you are free to pursue any activity you want.  You can go fishing, dig for fossils, collect bugs, plant orchards, commission buildings, decorate your home or engage in various other activities that the average person wouldn’t expect to be fun.  It would take a lifetime to describe all the activities so I won’t do that here.  The one I engaged in most was bug hunting on Tortimer’s Island because that was the quickest way to earn massive amounts of Bells (which is the in-game currency of Animal Crossing).

HNI_0001

My wife and I during a visit she made to my city. 

Once you’ve fully upgraded your house and paid off your home loan there really isn’t anything specific left to do in the game.  You can continue to develop your town as you see fit but after putting countless hours into the game I finally just phased it out of the gaming rotation.

HNI_0006

Based on my actual T-Shirt.  I’m so creative.

Animal Crossing was a surprise to me and I think it was worth the experience.  It’s not the kind of game I usually enjoy but it’s well done and very ‘Nintendo-ey’ in execution.  The game oozes adorable charm out of every orifice and I wholeheartedly recommend it.

HNI_0098

Relaxing in the town square.

Is it fun: Yes
Score: 8/10
Length:  ?? (lots) hours
System: Nintendo 3DS
Genre: Simulation

 

 

Leave a Reply

