Puppeteer

81F1bAGK1aL._SL1500_Date Completed: March 13th, 2016

Puppeteer is one of the many games that I owned on disc that Sony made available for FREE to Playstation Plus subscribers before I got around to playing it.  It often seems that there isn’t much of a point to paying for Playstation games anymore.  Between Steam sales, Humble Bundle and Playstation Plus I own more games than I’ll ever have time to play in my lifetime.  Fortunately most of them are crap and I don’t want to play them. But I digress.

Puppeteer is definitely not crap.  I was immediately struck by the high production values and melodramatic story.  The characters are instantly likable and the presentation is absolutely fantastic.  The entire game presents itself as a puppet show and the scenery appears as sets in a play.  The story is a suitably over-the-top fairy tale and was very enjoyable for myself and my children.

You play the role of Kutaro, a headless puppet intent on overthrowing the rule of the Moon Bear King and reclaiming his head.  Kutaro has stolen Calibrus, the Moon Bear King’s magical scissors that are the only weapon strong enough to defeat the Moon Bear King’s generals and return peace to the Solar System.

The game tells a very entertaining story and my kids very much enjoyed watching it.  Since Kutaro is headless he has to find various objects in the game (such as bats or gingerbread houses) that can function as heads and each of these objects has a short description on the collection page.  My younger son insisted that we revisit the list of heads after each level so he could see the collection and watch the head actions.

The only problem with Puppeteer is that the gameplay itself is a bit lacking.  The difficulty level makes me feel like it was targeted towards a younger audience, but the complexity of the controls (nearly every button is used for something) was far too advanced for my kids (ages 7 and 5) to be able to play on their own.  The gameplay isn’t boring, but it’s not terribly interesting either.

The game consists of 7 Acts that each contains 3 scenes.  Each scene is about 30 minutes long, and the game automatically saves between scenes.  This was a bit of an inconvenience because I didn’t know how the save the game and I usually sat down to play it right before dinner when I didn’t have enough time to complete a scene.  It took me 4 tries to finish the first scene but after that I knew not to play unless we had at least an hour free.

Overall I enjoyed the game a lot.  It’s a memorable experience with high production values and I was able to enjoy it with the whole family.

Is it fun: Yes
Score: 8/10
Length:  10 hours
System: Playstation 3
Genre: Platformer / Action

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

