Her Story

IMG_4795Date Completed: December 23, 2015

I bookmarked ‘Her Story’ in Toucharcade  when I first heard about it so I was informed immediately when it went on sale.  A few days prior to the sale the game had received multiple recognitions at the 2015 game awards so it seemed like a good opportunity to buy a good game at a discount.  I didn’t know a whole lot about the game but I suspected this was the kind of game my wife would enjoy so I bought it for her and put it on her iPad.  Thanks to the convenience of family purchasing I was able to install it on my phone as well.

After starting up ‘Her Story’ you are greeted by screen that looks similar to an old Windows based computer.  There is a single modal dialog in the with the world ‘MURDER’ typed into it.  You click search to find video clips that mention your search terms (a maximum of 5 results) and then you get to the interesting bit – watching videos and uncovering the story.

IMG_4796

The screen new players are greeted with.

I started the game a few days before my wife and then I badgered her to start playing because I wanted to talk about it.  The rabbit hole on this game gets very deep very quickly.  After she got into it she quickly surpassed my level of completion with the game.  We had fun sharing keywords with each other that would uncover additional videos and help reach 100% completion.

I can’t say anything else about the game because if you know anything about it whatsoever it is completely ruined.  This is the kind of game you can only play once.  Uncovering the story is what makes the game fun and after you know it all there is nothing left to do.  It must have been challenging to design a game that could be played like this and I think the the designers did a great job.  I’d say it’s worth the money and I highly recommend it.

Is it fun: Yes
Score: 8/10
Length: 2-3 hours
System: iOS
Genre: Interactive Drama

Leave a Reply

