Mario Golf : World Tour

Mario_Golf_World_Tour_boxartDate Completed: Nov. 26th, 2015

I have fond memories of the Gameboy Color version of Mario Golf but I hadn’t played a Mario Golf title since.  I thought Mario Golf : World Tour might be something I could play with my wife but when I asked her about it she said she had no interest in playing golf on her 3DS.  So much for that.  I probably wouldn’t have ever bought the title but when Club Nintendo was closing down and the time came to choose my final Platinum reward game I ended up settling for Mario Golf because I already owned most of the other available options.

The first time I ever played electronic golf was on my brand-new Gateway 2000 PC back in the mid ’90s which came with a free copy of Microsoft Golf.  Playing Mario Golf World Tour isn’t a significant departure from golf games of the past.  The primary differences from past titles are the things that go on around the clubhouse.  You play as your Mii and you have the ability to unlock items such as shirt, shoes, clubs and balls that can all affect your game in various ways.  Other golfers show up in your clubhouse via Steetpass and you can participate in online tournaments.  There are three single-player tournaments but if you don’t mind paying for DLC there appear to be other tournaments you can download from the eShop.

It didn’t take me long to beat the main three single-player championship tournaments and I didn’t want to get involved in online stuff.  There is still a LOT of equipment left for me to unlock in the game so I feel like I must have missed something but as far as I can tell the credits have rolled and I’m done with the game.  I would have liked to see another few championship courses but since the game was basically free I won’t complain.  I don’t plan on putting much more time into the game but since I own the downloaded version this game will live forevermore on my 3DS’s home screen.  I wouldn’t be surprised to find myself starting it up from time to time for a round or two.

Is it fun: Yes
Score: 6/10
Length:  8 hours
System: Nintendo 3DS
Genre: Sports / Golf

Leave a Reply

