Starcraft II : Legacy of the Void

StarCraft_II_-_Legacy_of_the_Void_coverDate Completed : November 21st, 2015

Spoiler warning!  Don’t read if you care!

Having already reviewed SC2 : WoL and SC2: HotS I don’t think there’s much new to say about how the game is played.  I’ll try and focus on what sets this game apart from the previous SC2 titles.

Legacy mixes things up a little bit by including prologue and epilogue missions in addition to a main campaign.  The main campaign this time around really didn’t resonate with me very much.  I think it has to do with the story – in the Terran missions there were a lot more subplots and only hints of the overarching story for the trilogy.  In Legacy the overarching story is right in your face, and all of the subplots are related to the resolution of the story.  Many of the missions reiterated on plot points that previous missions had already touched upon.  I felt to me that they were stretching things out pretty thin so they could include a full 19 missions.

The game starts with an attempt by the Protoss to retake their homeworld of Aiur.  You land on Aiur with an invincle army, and I suspect that the mission was designed with the intention of making you feel invincible.  You command a massive army and you steamroll your way easily through an army of entrenched Zerg.  The invasion seems destined for success until suddenly every Protoss is mind controlled by Amon, the dark voice from the void.  Only the Dark Templar Zeratul is unaffected and he gives his life to free a remnant Protoss forces from Amon so that they could escape.  Zeratul has been one of my favorite characters in all of gaming since my college days (I own his action figure).  I told a colleague at work that I’d rather see him die than lose Zeratul.  I think he thought I was kidding.  I’m not sure I was.

The remainder of the missions involved freeing / finding more Protoss forces so that you can make a second attempt at liberating Aiur.  The cut-scenes seem to have been taken up a notch – every single one of them is fantastic.   The story however seems to fizzle out at this point.  You know the campaign is going to end with the successful retaking of Aiur and everything else in between is just filler.  Awesome filler, but filler nonetheless.  The sentiment that seemed to shared by my friends was that Legacy offered the weakest campaign of the three games.

When I finished the final main campaign mission I decided to take a short break before starting up the epilogue.  BIG MISTAKE.  The epilogue is only three missions long (1 Protoss, 1 Terran, 1 Zerg) but it concludes the Starcraft II trilogy in the most satisfying way possible.   The ending is the most shamefully awesome fan-service of all time and I loved every second of it.  It more than makes up for any perceived shortcomings of the main campaign.

I’m sorry to see the end of the trilogy but with the upcoming mission packs I’m sure I’ll continue to play Starcraft for years to come.

Is it fun: Yes
Score: 9/10
Length:  10 hours
System: PC / Mac
Genre: Real Time Strategy
Leave a Reply

