The Legend of Zelda : Oracle of the Ages

Date Completed : September 5th, 2015

I promised in my The Legend of Zelda : Oracle of Seasons (OoS) review that I’d be playing through the Oracle of Ages soon…and I was wrong.  It took nearly two years for me to finally get through it.  Why you ask?  I made it about 3/4 of the way through the game and came upon a particularly involved side-quest that was required to enter a dungeon.  I took a short break from the game and when I couldn’t remember any of the details about where I was or what I was doing.  I waited for two years in case my memory came back to me but I finally resorted to using a walkthrough off the Internet and finished the game.

The Oracle of Ages and The Oracle of Seasons were meant to be played together, as a way of tricking poor college students into buying two games instead of one.  The joke is on them though! Now I own two copies of EACH!  The main difference between the games is that Oracle of Seasons uses a season changing mechanic and Oracle of Ages uses a time travel mechanic.  When I originally played these games I thought Oracle of Ages was the slightly better game but this time though I think I slightly preferred Seasons.  This is probably due to the fact that I got burned out partway through Ages and took a two year hiatus.

OotA follows Link’s adventures through the land of Labrynna to save Nayru (The Oracle of the Ages) from the evil sorceress Veran.  If you happen to have started the game with the password given after beating The Oracle of the Seasons then periodically characters in Ages will give you a password that you can enter in your game in Seasons for some reward.  There is also a bonus mission at the end of the game that is not otherwise accessible.

Nayru_(Oracle_of_Ages)

Nayru – The Oracle of the Ages

I really liked how the two games were able to interoperate with each other.  Characters that you met in one game would be able to remember you in the second, and passwords could be used to exchange items back and forth.  The password system was the best option we had at the time for enabling this, but with the technology of today this could be implemented much more seamlessly.  I hope Nintendo considers doing something like this again.

Pros

  • Password System
  • Memorable Characters

Cons

  • Only two buttons for items.
Is it fun: Yes
Score: 8/10
Length:  8 hours
System: 3DS (Virtual Console)
Genre: Action / Adventure
Leave a Reply

