The Legend of Zelda : Majora’s Mask 3DS

91MEVIjA-UL._SL1500_Date Completed: March 15th, 2015

When Majora’s Mask originally came out I felt like I was the only person in the world who actually liked the game.  In Majora’s Mask you have 72-hours to beat the game or the Moon crashes into the planet killing everyone.  Fortunately for you, you can use the Ocarina of Time to travel back to the beginning of the 72-hour period and start over. My good friend hated the feeling of being rushed through the game, but he totally missed the point.  Using a 72-hour timeline for the game makes it possible to script the actions of each person in the game beyond what is possible in other games.  Instead of characters who blandly say the same thing every time you talk to them, characters in Majora’s Mask move around town, say different things at different times, and interact with each other.  Most interestingly you can interact with individuals and change how the future unfolds.  Memorizing characters’ schedules can feel overwhelming at first but once you get to know the people in the game it makes the game feel alive.

Majora’s Mask 3D isn’t just a remake of the original game, it’s an upgrade.  The Graphics have been improved and several other changes have been implemented to improve the game from it’s original release.  This is in direct contrast to a Square-Enix ‘HD Remaster’, which generally is exactly like the original, except rendered in a higher resolution.  It had been long enough since I played the original that I didn’t notice most of the changes, but the graphical upgrade is quite noticeable and welcome (The old version had Link looking a bit jaundiced).

Majora’s Mask 3D released the same day as the ‘New’ Nintendo 3DS, which is different than the Nintendo 3DS.  The ‘New’ Nintendo 3DS came in three variants – Red, Black and MAJORA’S MASK GOLD.  I had been interested in owning a limited edition 3DS model for awhile – especially a Zelda themed one.  I had nearly purchased the ‘Link Between Worlds‘ variant of the 3DS XL several times, even though I already owned a 3DS XL, and my wife might have killed me.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to stop myself this time – this console was an actual hardware upgrade AND Zelda themed.  I began an epic quest to get one.

Immediately after the Nintendo Direct that announced the US launch of the new 3DS, I went straight to Best Buy’s website and pre-ordered one.  I was quick enough and managed to get one and I was secure in my knowledge that I would finally have a limited edition 3DS.  Fast forward a few weeks and my credit card was re-issued because it was part of a breach somewhere (Home Depot, Target, who knows).  I tried to change my pre-order to the new card through Best Buy’s website but the site didn’t have the functionality to change payment information.  I didn’t want to lose my pre-order because of some technical glitch so I called customer service and they were able to switch my payment over to a different card.  No problems.  OR SO I THOUGHT.  About an hour after I made the call I received an email that my order had been cancelled.  I naturally called Best Buy back but they said they couldn’t restore cancelled orders and that I needed to re-order the item.  I explained that was impossible and asked to be transferred to a manager so they hung up on me.  I am now Boycotting Best Buy, and I hope you will join with me.  That store sucks.

Don't Shop Best Buy

Friends don’t let friends shop at Best Buy

 

Launch day rolled along and I still hadn’t managed to find the Gold 3DS available for pre-order anywhere else.  I figured my best shot would be to head to Target at opening time (8:00 AM) and take my chances.  I drove to Target early and I ended up being 7th in a line of about a dozen people.  We all rushed to the electronics desk at opening and they only had two Majora’s Mask consoles, both of which were snatched up by the first two guys in line.  Lamentations.

I wandered aimlessly around Target, cried a little bit and did some shopping for Valentine’s day which was the next day.  It’s hard to describe the emotions I felt as I wandered around Target – emotions of desolation and despair.  It’s also impossible to describe the emotion I felt when I heard my phone chime indicating that I had a text message.

You see, knowing that stock would be limited I asked a colleague if he wouldn’t mind heading over to the OTHER Target store, just in case it had a shorter line.  AND IT DID.  My friend had managed to get the very last one at the OTHER Target, and he was driving to my side of town to arrange a trade.  We’d made a deal that if I was able to get my hands on the Majora’s Mask 3DS I’d sell him my old 3DS XL for a fraction of the eBay value.  I didn’t truly believe in it until he arrived, but when he did he handed me the glorious golden box and my story comes to a very happy ending.

Majora's Mask New 3DS

It’s even more glorious in person!!

 

There was another Limited Edition item that came out at the same time as the 3DS – The game itself had a limited edition version that came with a Skull Kid Statue.  This didn’t cause as much trouble for me to order – Amazon had pre-orders up for months in advance and I ordered early on.  The statue looks great sitting next to my limited edition Gannondorf from Wind Waker.  🙂

Gannon and Skull Kid

These guys look lonely. It might be a good time for an HD remake of The Minish Cap.

I’ve since learned that the gentleman who was standing behind me in line at Target that morning was also able to get his hands on a Majora’s Mask 3DS (I bumped into him at Toys R Us while we were both trying to pre-order Amiibos…another Nintendo related problem) although he had to purchase his as part of one of GameStop’s ‘Premium’ bundles.  Everything has worked out in the end and I look forward to many happy hours of gaming on my new Majora’s Mask 3DS.

Pros

  • Upgraded version of one of the greatest games ever.

Cons

  • No Streetpass, if you care about that kind of thing.

Is it fun: Yes

Score: 9/10
Length:  ~40 hours
System: Nintendo 3DS
Genre: Action / Adventure
Leave a Reply

