Diablo III : Reaper of Souls

Date Completed : 11/9/2014

Diablo III was fun, but was a big disappointment as well.  I can’t recall any other games in memory that has spawned more discussion with friends about what went wrong, and how it could have been better.  The conversations were very similar to the discussions about where Star Wars I, II and III went wrong.  Luckily for Blizzard it’s easier to patch a game than a movie.

I think my colleague Josh said it best when he said Diablo III : Reaper of Souls is the game that Blizzard should have released originally.  In preparation for the expansion the game was patched with major updates.  The auction house that seemed like a good idea at the time but totally ruined the original game was removed.  The difficulty level scale was completely reworked, and a few new play modes including ‘Adventure Mode’ were added that made it fun to play even after you’d cleared the game.

The expansion itself adds a fifth act to the game where you hunt down Malthiel, the Angel of Death who has gone rogue and stolen the black soul stone.  The new Act reminded me a lot of Act III, which was my favorite of the original release.  So, the new act is a good one.

It’s still too dark and violent for my boys to watch, and combined with the requirement for Internet access I wasn’t able to play at all until we completed our move into our new home.  Even after the move I didn’t play much until I found that it is quite possible to play one handed while holding my infant daughter.  It turns out that she enjoys the game almost as much as me…although I’m pretty sure my wife disapproves of this particular method of bonding.  I used to joke that my oldest boy would find the sound of gunfire relaxing because I played so much Resistance 2 while he was an infant.  Maybe my daughter will find the sounds of monsters exploding relaxing.

In my original Diablo III review I wrote I’ll probably be playing on and off for 10 years, and now I’m even more sure of that statement than I was when I first wrote it.  Maybe by then my sons will even be able to play with me.

Leave a Reply

