Flower

Date Completed: July 20, 2014

My good friend ‘Mark’ (I’ve changed his name to protect his identity) suggested that I try out Flower several years ago.  I didn’t know much about the game at the time but I did know that it was called Flower and that basically disqualified it for purchase in my book.   I probably still wouldn’t own it except for a healthy PS Plus discount and a lack of anything else to play on my Playstation 4.

Calling Flower a game is a bit of a stretch.  You can’t lose and it doesn’t require much skill to play.  If I had to say what Flower is I’d say it’s a ‘Interactive artistic motion controlled story’.  You control the wind in a flower’s dream and your goal is to help the flowers grow.  It doesn’t take much to cause a flower to bloom, all you have to do is get kinda close to it and it will pop right open.  Each flower that blooms adds a new petal to the wind front which doesn’t serve any purpose other than to indicate that you’re accomplishing something.

In spite of very basic gameplay and no written or verbal communications the game manages to tell a compelling story of life, death and rebirth.  There are six different flowers and six different dreams to play through, each about 15 minutes long.  It’s difficult to describe how the story progresses.  Similar to Journey (which is developed by the same company) this game is just one of those things you have to experience.

My kids surprisingly enjoyed watching me play the game and often asked me to play it.  My older son though it was silly that a flower could have a dream, but I think the concept did get him to at least consider the possibilty.

Flower was a fun little diversion for a low price.  It helped me pass some time away while waiting for my third child to be born and was an interesting experience.  I’d say it’s certainly worth the price.

Pros

  • One of a kind experience.

Cons

  • Not very challenging.
Is it fun: Yes
Score: 8/10
Length: 2 hours
System: Playstation 4
Genre: Action / Adventure
Leave a Reply

