Luigi’s Mansion : Dark Moon

Box ArtDate Completed: June 16th, 2013

Happy Year of Luigi!!!

Luigi’s Mansion 2 was one of the earlier games announced for the 3DS and one of the games I was most excited for.  When the pre-order became available on Amazon I added it to my wish list immediately.  My father, being the good Dad that he is, ordered it for me for Christmas 2011.  It would have been a disappointing Christmas if that had been the only thing that he ordered because the game didn’t end up shipping in time.  Instead of getting a copy of the game for Christmas I received an printed email from Amazon stating that the game would ship when it became available.  Every few months my Dad would forward me Amazon’s latest letter apologizing that the game had once again been delayed.  I started to look forward to my ‘Luigi’s Mansion is delayed again’ messages almost as much as I was looking forward to playing the game.  Christmas 2012 came and passed and once again I was given a print-out of Amazon’s apology letter (with some other cool stuff including a Wii U so I’m not complaining).  My Dad was finally able to give me my Christmas 2011 gift in March of 2013.

They might have considered naming this game ‘Luigi’s Mansions’.  The game is carved up into a series of mansions, each with  about 5 missions.  The Dark Moon (an artifact that keeps the ghosts in the valley from being total jerks) has shattered and Luigi must locate the pieces of the Moon so that it can be reassembled and peace can return to the valley.  Each mission took me about 30-45 minutes to complete on the first time through if I took the time to properly explore.  Exploring is usually worth the effort.  In addition fo finding tons of extra cash each mission also has a hidden ‘Boo’ ghost and hidden gemstones that can be collected.  Unfortunately you can’t save the game during a mission, you can only save between missions.  If you need to put your game down during a mission because your kids are putting steak knives into the blender (just an example, I’m 90% sure my kids haven’t tried that yet) you’ll have to put the 3DS in sleep mode and hope your battery holds out.

The basic game play involves first stunning ghosts with your flashlight.  Some ghosts hide, wear sunglasses or have other ways to block  your flashlight so stunning a ghost may take quote a bit of work.  After the ghost is stunned you vacuum the bugger up with the ‘Postergust 5000’.  Depending on how many hit points the ghost has it may take multiple stuns to suck it up.  The original Luigi’s Mansion had dual analog sticks and I was wondering how the 3DS would accomplish the sucking mechanic without dual analog sticks.  I’m happy to say that in spite of only having a single analog stick the 3DS control actually seems better than on the GameCube.  Nintendo has done a fantastic job here.

Sucking up a Ghost

In addition to sucking the Poltergust can also blow.  With the primary game play based on sucking and blowing it makes Luigi’s Mansion at least as awkward to talk about as it is to teach someone to juggle tennis balls (“Hold two of my balls in your left hand and the remaining ball in your right”).  Luigi also has a new ‘Dark-Light’ flashlight that will reveal invisible enemies and objects.  Each of the mansions has interesting objects that Luigi can interact with that add more variety to the game play.  For example there are balloon plants that can be inflated with the Poltergust that will allow Luigi to float, buckets of water that can make plants grow, and spider web wads that can be used as flaming torches.

Each mansion is unique but there are usually a few reoccurring missions in each one.  One example is the ‘Find the missing Toad assistant mission’ which involves locating a painting that Toad has been frozen inside of, freeing him and leading him to the exit.  My wife usually made me shut the sound off if she was around when Toad was following me.  That guy has the most irritating voice on earth.  Another reoccurring mission was the ‘catch the Polterpup’ mission. A poltergeist dog shows up periodically to steal an item from you sending you on a chase through the mansion to get it back.   In spite of his occasional thievery the Polterpup was the surprise star of the game.  It’s not uncommon to find posts in the ‘Year of Luigi’ section on the MiiVerse from individuals wishing for a Polterpup of their own.

468px-LuigisMansionDarkMoonArt7

How can you possibly stay mad at him?

The Luigi’s Mansion theme song is featured heavily and it is as catchy as always.  Luigi will periodically whistle along with the music which I thought was a nice touch.  The graphics look fantastic as well.  My Dad happened to glance at the game over my shoulder while we were all gathered together on Father’s Day and said “Wow! Great Graphics!”.  The 3D mode isn’t ‘in-your-face’ or obnoxious.  It simply adds depth to the scene and it was easy to forget it was on at all.  I mostly played the game in 3D except when my kids were watching.

My boys usually aren’t all that interested in portable titles but they loved Luigi’s Mansion.  Sometimes I tried to sneak a mission or two in while the boys were playing Legos but if they noticed what I was up to they’d immediately hop on the couch with me, usually obstructing my screen in the process.  They’ve started dressing like ghosts and it’s not uncommon to see them running around the house wearing sheets or blankets over their heads.

Finally I’d like to mention that the game does have multi-player and you do not need multiple copies of the game to enjoy it.  My wife and I were able to play the Scare Scraper mode using download play and it was quite a bit of fun.  The only issue was that the player who is downloading a copy is unlikely to know how to play the game and there is no tutorial so it’s a bit of a trial by fire.

Luigi’s Mansion : Dark Moon is a fantastic title and I plan on holding on to my copy for a long while.

Pros

  • Great Graphics and Soundtrack
  • Multiple Mansions
  • Multiplayer Modes (With download play)

Cons

  • No saving during a mission.
Is it fun: Yes
Score: 9/10
Length:  16 hours
System: 3DS
Genre: Action
Leave a Reply

