Gunman Clive

Date Completed: 3/16/2013

My wife is one of those people that’s impossible to shop for.  Her only real hobbies are reading and cooking and the only thing she collects is clothing and shoes.  I’m always at a loss for what to get her so when I find something that works I stick with it.  For the last several years I’ve grabbed her copies of the most recent ‘Professor Layton’ game for Christmas but this year was different because Professor Layton made the jump to 3D.  I wasn’t sure if she’d enjoy a 3DS but due to my lack of a better idea I went ahead and got her one anyway.  I’m happy to say she did enjoy the 3DS and has even downloaded a few games from the eShop.  Gunman Clive was one of those games.

I’d never heard of Gunman Clive before but after watching my wife play Gunman Clive I decided I had to own a copy as well.  Since 3DS’s can’t share an account I had to buy a second copy but the title was cheap and I’m generally OK with supporting independent developers.  The game uses a primarily red / beige palette and is drawn using a pen & ink mode.  The graphics look very unique and the 3D effect really pops.  This is actually one of the better looking (and more interesting) uses of 3D that I’ve seen on the 3DS.

Gunman Clive is a basic platforming shooter title.  Game play consists of walking through several levels jumping over obstacles and shooting bad guys.  The game utilizes ‘floaty’ physics and Clive hovers a bit and can jump a bit higher than would be plausible in real life.  I tend to prefer this type of control in a shooting platformer.  It’s very similar in control to a Mega Man or a Contra title.

The game has very high production values and shows a great attention to detail.  The game isn’t very long but I had a lot of fun playing it and it is well worth the few dollars I spent on it.

Some interesting trivia : Gunman Clive is also available for iOS and Android but the 3DS version has outsold each of those platforms.

.Pros

  • Interesting Artistic Direction.
  • Excellent use of 3D.
  • Duck mode.

Cons

  • Not very long.
Is it fun: Yes
Score: 7/10
Length:  2 hours
System: 3DS (eShop)
Genre: Platform / Shooter
One thought on “Gunman Clive

  1. Pingback: Gunman Clive 2 | Video Gaming Dad

Leave a Reply

