Mega Man

Date Competed : February 1, 2013

Mega Man Stage Select

I have a lot of fond memories of the original Mega Man from back in the day.  I never owned a copy of the game but my next door neighbor did have one and it was one of our go-to games for years.  Mega Man stands out in my memory as one of the more difficult games of my youth and beating it took YEARS.  Beating Mega Man on the original NES still stands as one of my greatest gaming achievements.

The Virtual Console release for the 3DS has state saves so beating it a second time didn’t take as long as the first time.  The state save system takes several taps on the touch screen and isn’t as convenient to use as on some of today’s finer emulation software.  I mostly used it before difficult jumps and boss fights.  Using the state save system I was able to complete the game without dying at all.

The graphical style of the game has held up very well over the years.  The only thing that stood out to me was how small the screen was.  A few of the long jumps seemed harder to take but I assume that was more of a function of my lost skill rather than the small screen.  Either way the state save system eliminates mitigates any difficulty issues with the game.

Mega Man is a great game and it has held up well.  Along with the Mario and Contra games it is one of the few series I plan on exposing my kids to when they are old enough.  It is a welcome addition to the 3DS virtual console and is well worth the purchase.

Pros

  • Nostalgia.
  • State Saves.

Cons

  • Small Screen.
Is it fun: Yes
Score: 8/10
Length:  2 hours
System: Nintendo 3DS Virtual Console
Genre: Action
One thought on “Mega Man

  1. Pingback: Gunman Clive | Video Gaming Dad

Leave a Reply

