New Super Mario Bros. 2

Date Completed: 1/18/2013

Box Art

My wife’s grandparents got me a copy of the New Super Mario Bros. 2 for my 3DS to accompany the copy of New Super Mario Bros. U that my wife’s parents got me.  I’ve been playing the games simultaneously and it’s impossible to avoid comparing them directly.  They are essentially the same game.  Level progression is identical, game play is identical and enemies are identical.  I would have finished both of the games on the same day last week except I intentionally avoided the Bowser’s castle so they’d be spaced out a bit more.  If my boys caught me playing this game they’d tell me to put it up on the TV, which of course meant I’d have to switch consoles (but they didn’t know that).  Long story short, this is extremely similar to the Wii U game.

The biggest difference between this game and the Wii U game is that this game has a secondary objective.  Your primary objective is to defeat Bowser and save the princess but your secondary objective is to collect golden coins.   Coins are much easier to come by in this game than in previous Mario titles.  Coins fly out of pipes or appear out of thin air as you pass by.  Some enemies throw coins at you and there are giant coins that are worth 10 or 100 coins.  The best way to get money was with the magic GOLDEN FIREBALL.  You can pick up a golden flower (pictured on the right hand side of the box art) and you will be gifted with the ability to shoot golden fireballs.   Golden fireballs explode in a golden supernova that turns anything in the vicinity to cold hard cash.  Needless to say this is an ability I’d like in real life.

Golden Fireballs! (Image from Gametrailers.com)

The game also includes a coin rush mode where you run through a series of levels collecting coins with a limited timer.  It looks like additional coin rush courses are available as DLC but I didn’t investigate that option too much.  DLC offends me.

The game is in 2D and the 3D effect is barely noticeable.  For the most party I played without 3D.  The levels were fun but I didn’t find any of them to be particularly memorable.  It’s still worth picking up for any Mario fans out there.

Pros

  • GOLDEN FIREBALLS
  • Coin Rush Mode

Cons

  •  3D visuals are barely noticeable.
Is it fun: Yes
Score: 8/10
Length:  6 hours
System: Nintendo 3DS
Genre: Platformer
Leave a Reply

