Medieval Moves: Deadmund’s Quest

Date Completed: July 21st, 2012

Oops! Looks like I forgot to blog about this one.  July was a busy month.

The gist of the game is that the fine developers of Sports Champions have taken the Archery, Fencing and Frisbee games and turned them into a Fantasy themed fighting game. Young Deadmund must make his way through several levels and fight the armies of the Undead to save his Kingdom from an Evil wizard.  He’s armed with a sword, a shield, a bow an arrow and later on he will pick up throwing starts and most excitingly DYNAMITE BABY.

Controls are pretty spot on.  Throwing star mechanics are pretty much the same as throwing a Frisbee in Sports Champions.  The Sword works like expected and the bow and arrow works like expected.  I especially enjoyed the dynamite mechanic.  You hold the move controller up to your mouth and cover the glowing ball like you’re blowing on the fuse.  THEN YOU THROW THE DYNAMITE BABY.  The game can be played with a single controller or with two controller.  I tried both modes and I found that the game was harder with two controllers but it felt more realistic and enjoyable.  I ended up completing the game with two.

The level design is boring and lacks color but the enjoyable action makes up for it.  This game also supports 3D but I found it harder to aim the bow and arrow in 3D mode (I had to close one eye) and in general I didn’t think added depth added any immersion to this game.

I didn’t try out all of the multiplayer modes but the ones I did try were boring and my associate and I had an annoying tendency to punch each other while swinging our swords around.  Maybe a fun drinking game but if you’re sober it’s probably best to stick with Mario Kart.

Overall I think the game is good fun and now that it’s been heavily discounted I fully recommend it.

Pros

  • Fantasy combat game based on Sports Champions mini games.

Cons

  • Somewhat boring level design.
Is it fun: Yes
Score: 7/10
Length:  ~5 hours
System: Playstation 3
Genre: Rail / Sports
Leave a Reply

