Starfox 64 3D

Date Completed: 6/3/2012

When the 3DS was announced I said to myself “HOW AWESOME WOULD STAR WARS ROGUE SQUADRON BE IN 3D?”.  I haven’t been given the gift of Rogue Squadron yet but I do have a remake of Starfox 64 to play, which is a different kind of awesome.

In college I made the grave mistake of loaning my Nintendo 64 to the guy who had the BIG TV.  I only had a 13-inch set so it seemed like a good idea at the time.  Unfortunately what ended up happening is that my friend would beat my games overnight and when I came over to play them I’d find all of my save files completely mastered.  In spite of my great enjoyment of Starfox 64 I never officially beat the game.  With the release of Starfox 64 3DS that wrong has now been righted.

The game is exactly as I remembered, with some minor improvements, and a full 3D effect.  It sports some new kind of motion control, which I found to be awful so I immediately turned it off.  There isn’t much new with the single player.  You just blast your way through the story line and then you win.  It only takes 5-10 minutes per level, and about 10 levels per play through.  Some of the missions fork off so you can’t visit every mission in one play through.  To get the BEST ending though you have to play through a specific series of missions.

The multiplayer is supposedly the part that got the biggest upgrade but I still can’t convince anyone I know to buy a 3DS so I have not been able to experience it yet.

Starfox 64 is the greatest Starfox game of all time and a 3DS remake is a welcome addition to the 3DS library.

Pros

  • Best Starfox ever, in 3D!
  • You can turn off the motion controls.

Cons

  • Not much ‘new’ about it.
Is it fun: Yes
Score: 8/10
Length:  ~2 hours
System: Nintendo 3DS
Genre: Rail Shooter
Leave a Reply

