Mario Kart 7

Date Completed: April 1st, 2012


If you’ve played previous titles in the series you’ll know how being in first place is a good way to get yourself blasted to bits. In earlier Mario Kart games some of the items such as blue shells and lightning bolts weren’t as common but in this game I was pretty much guaranteed of being shot by at least 3 blue shells on a single track and at least 1 lightning bolt. Since performing well results in your destruction it’s really hard to judge how hard this game is.

I figured that I should finish all of the modes before I wrote about Mario Kart 7. I beat every mode with at least a 1-star ranking on each mission so I’m not actually sure if there is a ranking lower than 1-star. I guess it’s possible that after 20 years of playing Mario Kart I am simply so good that I am incapable of scoring less. I think I’ll just assume that is the case.

If you’ve played Mario Kart before there isn’t a whole lot of new stuff going on. The most interesting change is the addition of a hang glider. Hang gliding is fun and if done right there are several short cuts that can only be reached with skillful hang glider runs. There are also underwater sections that are pretty much identical to the normal portions of the game.


I played most of the game with 3D on high. Several of the new levels were obviously designed with 3D in mind and they looked amazing. Like all action games it could become pretty difficult to not move the 3DS and blur your entire view of the game. When I got too behind and played too frantically I would sometimes have to shut the 3D off but for the most part it was on and I preferred it that way.

I loved this game as much as any Mario Kart before it. The levels were great and the retro cup brought several of my old favorites back. The action really got my heart racing at times and I had to stop playing before bed because it made it hard to go to sleep afterwards. I highly recommend Mario Kart 7.

Pros

  • Mario Kart in 3D
  • Hang Gliding & Underwater Sections

Cons

  • If you do well the game will murder you.

Is it fun: Yes
Score: 8/10
Length: ~8 hours
System: Nintendo 3DS
Genre: Racing

Leave a Reply

