Castlevania: Lords of Shadow

Date Completed: March 8th, 2012

This game took my forever to finish.  It was way to mature to play in front of my kids, and there were even some scenes I wouldn’t have wanted my wife to walk in on, so I had to play in short intervals when no one was around.

First Impression – Awesome.  The graphics are among the best I have seen for the console.  The environments are amazingly detailed and you can really tell the team cared about creating a quality experience.  Patrick Stewart narrates the cut scenes and does a fantastic job.  Overall the presentation of this game is amazing.

Second Impression – Man, this game is hard.  There are a ton of button combinations that I never really did master.  I would often forget how to play the game since I was often away from the game for several days.  I eventually resorted to using a FAQ I found online so that I could know which combat combos to memorize before going in to a particular level.

There is a LOT of content in this game for an Action title.  Each mission took me about 30 minutes to beat, and that was with a FAQ open on a second screen.  Even with all of that content each area of the game was new and fresh.  There are Towns, Forests, Mountains, Castles and other various locations to explore, all of which are highly detailed.  Enemies are interested and challenging and boss battles were just FUN.  Bosses came in many varieties from Werewolves, Vampires, Necromancers and Titans which were several hundred feet tall.

Not to say the game is perfect.  The camera angle is fixed in most scenes.  For the most part this isn’t a problem but there were times when I was unable to see my character and respond to being attacked.  The game also relies on Quick-Time-Events periodically, especially as a finishing move for boss battles.  The QTE’s are irritating when they come up but I must admit they do add a bit of variety to the hacking and slashing.  If you miss a button press during a QTE your foe usually regains some health which is especially irritating on later bosses when the QTE’s get extremely fast.

Prior to playing this game I was a casual fan of the Castlevania series, but now I want MORE.  I spent much of last night trying to find hints that there would be a sequel (which it appears there will be) and reading up on back story.  I wholeheartedly recommend this game to anyone allowed to play M rated games.

Pros

  • Gorgeous environments
  • Awesome Combat
  • Patrick Stewart

Cons

  • Fixed Camera
  • Quick-Time-Events
Is it fun: Yes
Score: 9/10
Length:  ~12 hours
System: Playstation 3
Genre: Action
One thought on “Castlevania: Lords of Shadow

  1. Pingback: Castlevania : Lords of Shadow – Mirror of Fate | Video Gaming Dad

Leave a Reply

