Mega Man 3

Date Completed: May 29, 2011

It will be impossible for me to review Mega Man 3 objectively.  It was the first Mega Man game I actually played back the the days of the NES.  Nintendo Power had an unhealthy amount of marketing dedicated to it and at that point in my life I tended to do whatever Nintendo Power told me to do.  It was a simpler time.

Mega Man 3 doesn’t mess with the trusted Mega Man formula.  You will find yourself up against 8 robot masters, each with a different power.  After fighting your way through the robot master’s lair and defeating him you will gain his power.  Each robot master is weak to one of the other robot master’s powers so the order you fight them in can make a huge difference.

Mega Man 3 also introduces Mega Man to his robot dog pal Rush.  Rush has the ability to turn into a jet, a submarine and a spring board to help reach those hard to reach places.   Mega Man also gains the ability to slide.  In my opinion sliding is the best thing that ever happened to the Mega Man series.  It is hard for me to go back and play one of the Mega Man games that did not allow sliding.

When Mega Man 3 became available for the Wii Virtual Console I bought it immediately.  It has held up remarkably well over the years.  It is still just as fun to play as it was in 1990.  It is well worth the 500 Wii points.

It took me a long time to finish this game because I kept losing all of my save progress.  Mega Man originally used a password system to keep track of your progress, however the Wii has the handy ability to save your progress at wherever you last were in the game.  I kept counting on the Wii to save my location and kept losing it.  I’m not entirely sure why, but I ended up fighting my way through this game four times before finally finishing it several years after I bought it.

Pros
* Still very fun after 20 years.

Cons
* Password based save system

Is it fun: Yes
Score: 8/10
Length:  ~4 hours
System: Wii (Virtual Console)
Genre: Platform / Action

Leave a Reply

