Resident Evil : The Darkside Chronicles


I have never been a Resident Evil fan myself but I have many fond memories from college of my roommate screaming like a little girl while playing the original.  When this game was announced I decided to finally try out the series. I had been hoping for a game I could use my Zapper peripheral with for awhile and like many Wii owners I had been desperate to find a decent ‘mature’ title to play on the system.

While playing this game I learned a lot about myself, and how I’ve changed over the years.  Mainly, I no longer have time to play games like I did in college so instead of going for 100% completion I will try and rush through a game as quickly as possible.  Unfortunately this means that I missed out on several important features like THE ABILITY TO UPGRADE YOUR FREAKING GUN.  The game kept getting progressively more difficult but I didn’t notice until the last level of the game there is an upgrade menu for your weapons and once you’ve invested all of your upgrade points beating the game becomes VASTLY EASIER.

Resident Evil Darkside Chronicles is a rail shooter that retells the events of Resident Evil 2 and Resident Evil : Code Veronica as well as introduces a new storyline.  The game can be played with up to two players and works well with the Zapper peripheral.

My favorite part about rail shooters is that you really don’t have to think too much.  Blowing up zombies can be a great way to relieve the tension that comes from being the father of a 2 year old.  Hitting zombies in their weak spot (a dime sized spot on their foreheads) will cause their head to explode and their neck to spout a geyser of blood in a very satisfying way.

The game features some pretty epic boss fights, although with up to five alternate forms and no extra ammo some might say the boss fights are a little too epic.  I constantly found myself running out of ammo, although if I had upgraded my weapons in the beginning of the game, maybe my ammo would have lasted a little longer.

The only real irritation I had with this game was that the camera was extremely jiggly.  The Wii pointer is already a little hard to aim, enemies already sway back and forth, adding a jiggly camera to the mix is just mean.

Overall I had a lot of fun playing the game.  I’ll probably keep it around and play it multiplayer when I have guests over who might appreciate senseless zombie slaughtering.  I caught my father-in-law checking out Claire Redfield’s backside during the retelling of Code Veronica so maybe he’d be up for a few levels.

Not Claire’s Backside
Pros
* Killing Zombies is Fun
* Epic Boss Battles
Cons
* Jiggly Camera
* Too Epic Boss Battles
Is it fun: Yes
Score: 7/10
Length:  20 hours
System: Wii
Genre: Rail Shooter

Leave a comment