LittleBigPlanet 2

LittleBigPlanet 2 is the latest entry in Sony’s ‘Play/Share/Create’ category of games meaning that it is meant to be a social experience played with other people.  The main story mode of the game is actually fairly short, however the online features of the game could be played for a lifetime.  Like the original LittleBigPlanet this game gives you all of the tools to create your own worlds and publish them to the Interwebs.  There are millions of levels published so even if you finish the game you’ll always have plenty of content to keep you busy.
When I played through the original title, I didn’t have any kids.  I probably wouldn’t have gotten into the game so much but several of my friends had purchased the game and REALLY got into level designing to the point where they were even entering contests.  I had a whole week off from work for Thanksgiving that year and I spent it designing and publishing levels of my own (none of which were liked very well, it turns out I don’t have a knack for it).  Now that the second title has been released, I have two kids and very few friends with the title to play with.  I think that mostly due to what’s going on in my life right now, while the game improves on the original in almost every way, I found that I actually enjoyed this game less.
The game engine has been updated so that in addition to platforming levels several other genres of games can be designed.  There are racing levels as well as shooter levels and sports levels to keep you occupied.  The game has also incorporated cut scenes with voice acting and more of a storyline that is much improved over the original.  There is even a new community website so you can stay involved with the LittleBigPlanet world from your web browser.  The game supposedly even has 3D support although this wasn’t something I could test.
Story mode is charming, funny and a lot of fun.  The zany characters you meet are now voice acted in cut scenes and stay with you through most of the game.  The plat takes off immediately and you are on a quest to defeat the ‘Negativitron’ who is destroying the LittleBigPlanet world.  The levels you play through will train you in the skills you will need, as well as introduce to to characters who will help ‘The Alliance’ win ultimate victory.  The new cut scenes are great and a lot of fun, however if you’re playing online the host of the game will probably skip them and you’ll miss the whole thing.  I recommend beating the game off-line and then going back through for 100%.
I found the levels to be quite a bit easier than in the original.  I aced most of them on my first try and I rarely died more than twice on any level.  I much preferred the difficulty level of the original.  Even the trophies seemed easier to get.  I spent countless hours spanning months trying to get all of the trophies in the original.  This one I think I could do in a weekend if I cared to.

Technically this game improves on the original in every way.  The original is still one of my favorite games of all time and I really enjoyed this game too.  It’s a great game that can be played with the whole family and a worth successor to LittleBigPlanet.
Pros
* Design tools can be used to create games of several genres.
* Online community provides endless amounts of content.
Cons
* Story mode is short.
Is it fun: Yes
Score: 8/10
Length:  10 hours
System: Playstation 3
Genre: Platform (All?)
2 thoughts on “LittleBigPlanet 2

  1. Pingback: LittleBigPlanet Karting | Video Gaming Dad

  2. Pingback: LittleBigPlanet PS VITA | Video Gaming Dad

Leave a Reply

