Super Mario Galaxy 2

After spending the weekend playing Super Mario Galaxy 2, I would often go into work on Monday and tell my colleagues about some of the levels I had just gone through.  The level design is fantastic and I can’t recall the last time I played a game and was so completely ‘wowed’ by level design.  Nintendo has taken all of the best ideas and created some truly unique experiences the likes of which you will never see from any other game designer! 

Actual game play is fairly similar to every 3D Mario game ever released.  One notable improvement is the camera control.  It’s not perfect, but with every 3D game Nintendo releases the camera control gets a little less obnoxious.  In this game it is almost bearable.  I did have a few points through the game where I was yelling at the screen because I couldn’t see anything but I never felt like I died because of crappy camera controls.

If you played the original Super Mario Galaxy then this game will be extremely familiar.  Except better.  Yoshi (who was sadly absent from the first Galaxy game) has been included.  You also have a much larger smorgasbord of power ups.  The only thing Super Mario Galaxy 2 doesn’t improve on is the story.  In fact, there is barely a story at all.  Fortunately, unlike Final Fantasy XIII, Super Mario Galaxy 2 doesn’t need a story to keep you playing.  This game is actually fun.

My wife and I played through most of the game together.  The second player is able to help by grabbing hard to reach 1-ups, coins, star bits and can pause enemies.  There are several places in the game where I would have had serious trouble without my wife’s help.  Some of the levels are very difficult.

Overall I had a blast playing through Super Mario Galaxy 2.  I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who enjoys fun.

Pros
* Amazing Level Design.
Cons
* Somewhat lacking in the story department.
Is it fun: Yes
Score: 9/10
Length:  15 hours
System: Wii
Genre: Platform
One thought on “Super Mario Galaxy 2

  1. Pingback: Super Mario 3D World | Video Gaming Dad

Leave a Reply

