StarCraft II : Wings of Liberty

While I was playing this game my wife often referred to herself as a ‘StarCraft Widow’.  Every free moment I had was spent playing StarCraft.  I would sneak away when she wasn’t looking so I could play more StarCraft.  I became obsessed to the point where I started buying StarCraft books and I almost ended up purchasing the StarCraft board game (Thankfully I did not).  I wish I could blame StarCraft for most of that but I think my obsessive personality may have had something to do with it.  


StarCraft  II isn’t just a game – it’s a way of life.  If you want to experience everything this game has to offer prepare to offer up your soul.  There is simply too much content for one normal person to get through in a lifetime.


The main campaign of StarCraft II revolves around the Terran race.  You follow the wacky exploits of James Raynor and his band of rebels as they try and save the universe from Arcturus Mengsk.  The main campaign has 26 missions each of which has multiple objectives.  Many of your objectives are optional but completing them will help you out in the long run by unlocking additional technology upgrades.  Each mission also has optional ‘Achievements’ so if you are in to that kind of thing you may end up playing many of the mission multiple times to pick them up.


Objectives in the game are much more varied than in the original title.  Instead of ‘wipe out all enemies’ there are objectives like ‘protect 5 colonist bases’ or ‘destroy 8 dominion trains’.  There are such a wide variety of objectives that I never found myself getting bored with the missions, even after 26 missions.  I had so much fun playing through the missions on normal that after I beat the game I immediately began a new game on hard and started over.


In addition to the campaign mode there is also a challenge mode available to single players.  It is a good tool to prepare you for online matches.  The challenge drops you into a scenario and you are awarded a medal on how well you perform.  The challenges are very practical and are good practice even if you’ve beat that challenge before.


Finally we have online play.  The online play is amazing.  Everything from the original StarCraft has been improved.  The only complaint I have heard is that new players are often confused that some units from the original StarCraft are missing.  If you read Blizzard’s documentation on the matter this was done for a reason, but it may confuse you if you are a fan of the original.  There are normal custom matches, but there are also league matches, cooperative matches, quick matches and team matches.  Any one type of match could consume all of your spare time.  There truly is endless game play potential.


Overall this is one of the most amazing games I have ever played.  I was a fan of the original StarCraft but this game takes it to a whole new level.  I haven’t played a game that I enjoyed this much in a long time.


Pros
* Improves on the original StarCraft.
* Tons of content.

Cons

* Kiss your life goodbye.


Is it fun: Yes
Score: 10/10
System: Mac (Battle.net)
Genre: Real-Time Strategy

3 thoughts on “StarCraft II : Wings of Liberty

  1. Pingback: Starcraft II : Heart of the Swarm | Video Gaming Dad

  2. Pingback: Starcraft II : Legacy of the Void | Video Gaming Dad

Leave a Reply

